Zulfiqer Russell is a Bangladeshi journalist and lyricist. He won the Bangladesh National Film Award for Best Lyrics for the film Putro (2018). He was the winner of the Citycell-Channel I Music Award in 2008, 2010, and 2013 and also received the Mirchi Music Awards (Bangla) award for the Song of the Year in the Modern Song category for, “Shabuj Chilo”. In 2020 he was awarded CJFB Performance Award 2019 as the best lyricist.

At the beginning of 1993, Russell’s poems were featured in a number of publications including Ajker Kagoj. His first poem was “Kofine Ojoggo Purush”. He also started writing songs both independently and with other lyricists and musicians such as Moni Zaman from the band Symphony, and Bappa Mazumder.

In addition to working with fellow Bangladeshi artists, he has also worked with renowned Indian singers and composers including Grammy and Academy Award (Oscar) winner musician A. R. Rahman, Hariharan, Sonu Nigam, Javed Ali, Palak Muchhal, Benny Dayal, Zubin Garg, Nachiketa, Anjan Dutta, Indranil Sen, Rupankar Bagchi, Raghab Chattergee, Anwesha, Chinmoyee, Iman Chakrabarty.

He wrote the official welcome song ‘O Prithibi Ebar Eshe Bangladesh Nao Chine’ for the 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup held in Bangladesh, India, and Sri Lanka.

He wrote the official theme song ‘Ektai Achhe Desh’ of the Golden Jubilee of Bangladesh Independence sung by fifty renowned singers of Bangladesh.

He also wrote a theme song ‘Joy Bangabandhu’ in the Hindi language for the state ceremony on the hundred-year celebration of Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman. This song is composed and sung by Academy award winner A. R. Rahman.

He wrote another theme song ‘Hoyeche ki Sonar Bangla’ for the state ceremony on the hundred-year celebration of Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman.

He is currently the Editor of the Bangla Tribune and has previously written for publications such as The Daily Ittefaq and The Daily Janakantha. He has also worked for Maasranga Television and Bangla newspapers, Daily Amader Shomoy, Ajker Kagoj and Banglabazar Patrika.

He is also active in various organisations like the Lyricists Association of Bangladesh (Geetikobi Shongho) where he places himself as Organizing Secretary. By this platform they want amendments to copyright law to stop the unauthorized use of lyrics.

He is also the Organizing secretary of the Editors Guild, Bangladesh.